TTA championships results

Tshwane Triathlon Association championships

Buffelspoort Dam

4 November 2018

Franco Sport hosted the 2019 TTA provincial triathlon championships this past weekend at Buffelspoort Dam. Athletes from Gauteng North, Central Gauteng and North West lined up at the water’s edge to race the qualifier for the 2019 South African triathlon championships in Durban.

The day started off with the Super Sprint, the qualifying race for athletes ages 12-15. With the water temperature at 21 degrees Celcius, the 400m swim was non-wetsuit. First out of the water was Joshua Gillespie in a time of 08:15, followed by Declan Nel in a time of 09:28. Some position jostling was eminent on the single lap 10km cycle, as Shaun Wolfaardt was first off the bike into transition 2 with a cycle split of 20:01. With only the single lap 2,5km run left, Wolfaardt held his lead, and Storm Cooper moved into second place. Wolfaardt finished the run in a time of 10:40, finishing first in a time of 40:43. Second place was awarded to Cooper who completed the race in a time of 43:40. Third place and the winner of his age category was Gillespie in a time of 44:19. The girls’ race was won by Mia van der Veen who completed the race in a time of 47:03. Second place in the girls’ race was awarded to Danica Prinsloo who finished in a time of 47:58. The winner of the bronze medal completing the race in a time of 49:35 was Vera de Beer.

The standard distance race followed after the super sprint. The marker buoys had drifted some distance off course, making for a 2,0-2,1km wetsuit swim instead of the usual 1500m. The first men out of the water were Pieterjan van der Merwe and Matthew Greer in a time of 27:23. They were followed by Markus van Niekerk in 29:26 and the first lady out of the water, Jodie Berry in a time of 29:30. The leading duo held onto their 1-2 positions on the non-drafting two lap 40km hilly cycle. Adriaan Myburgh and Herculaas Cronjé caught van Niekerk and Berry to take positions 3 and 4. Magda Niewoudt blew the ladies’ field adrift with a phenomenal TT bike cycle, making up the deficit after the swim and continuing to put a further five minutes lead into Berry. Greer and van der Merwe dismounted the bike leg as close together as non-draft ruling would allow, but Greer sped out of transition 2 to open up his winning lead. The technical off-road four lap 10km run appeared to be suited to Greer’s strengths, as he opened up a large gap on his pursuer, finishing the run in a time of 37:14. Greer won the race in a time of 2:15:06. Van der Merwe claimed the silver medal with a run split of 39:02 and finish time of 2:16:56. Third was awarded to Cronjé in a finish time of 2:18:02. In the ladies’ race, Niewoudt completed the run in a time of 43:29, finishing first in a time of 2:33:55. Berry held on to her second place, running a 43:18 and finishing in a time of 2:39:03. Third was awarded to Natalie Ross, who completed the race in a time of 2:46:07.

The final race for the day was the sprint triathlon, which was the SA’s qualifying race for the 16-19 year olds. Youth Olympian, Christiaan Stroebel led from early stages in the swim, packing on an impressive solo performance to claim the victory. Stroebel swam the 750m course in a time of 12:32, cycled the single lap 20km cycle in a time of 35:07 and ran 20:02 for the two lap 5km. He was followed over the finish line by Khan Nothnagel in a time of 1:08:21; Carlu Prinsloo claimed third spot in a finish time of 1:09:15. In the girls’ race, Hannah Newman followed Stroebel’s style of leading from the get-go. Out the water first in a time of 14:19, cycling a 41:39 and running 24:03, Newman was the winning lady in a finish time of 1:20:01. Second place was awarded to Nadya Stolarczyk, who finished in a time of 1:21:18. Third place was claimed by Britney Strumpher in a finish time of 1:21:56.